Innovation Does not Happen in a Vacuum

The weekly topic for #YourEduStory (of the week of February 8th–I’m er… a little behind) is “What is connected learning and what’s in it for me?”

The answer –in short–is that innovation does not happen in a vacuum.

Very rarely does a “Eureka” moment simply pop out of thin air. 99.99% of innovative and creative ideas come from something previously created. Steve Job and Jony Ive put together all the pieces already out there to create the iPhone. The creators of the Swiffer watched a woman use a wet paper towel to wash her floor and saw a potential product. Dorito’s had been around for years before Taco Bell realized that a taco could be wrapped in a chip. Innovation is almost always the act of taking ideas that are already out there and finding a creative use or a new combination of them.

In my own teaching, I have seen tremendous benefit from being connected, as I have learned several ways to effectively use technology in the classroom. From Cheryl Morris, I learned how to use Todaysmeet as a backchannel when doing Socratic Circles and how to use peer coaching with Google Docs to enhance discussions. From Will Kimbley, I learned how to use ThingLink as a product-based assessment. I learned all about Classcraft from Timonious Downing at EdCamp Home last summer, and I now love it immensely. I can’t tell you how many times I am with other educators who say to me, “How do you know all this stuff?” The answer, in short, is that I am an idea-mooch from all the mighty educators in my Professional Learning Network (PLN).

That being said, the value of connected learning does not only apply to educational technology. It wasn’t until I read Doug Robertson’s great book He’s the Weird Teacher that it fully dawned on me that relationships are the most important aspect of education. I also found out about another great book through connected education: through the podcast EduAllstars, I first heard about the great Josh Stumpenhorst, who published a wonderful book entitled The New Teacher Revolution, which mentioned the exact same idea. (If two rockstar teachers mention the exact same idea, they might be onto something.)

I also get great ideas from the mighty Jon Corippo. His speeches and sessions always involve educational technology, but he always includes some important aspect of pedagogy. It is not enough to give shared Google docs to students, but to effectively scaffold and model for them what to do. I have grown tremendously as an educator because of his help.

I think it’s important to clarify exactly what “connected learning” is–and isn’t. It is any form of teachers learning and sharing ideas with one another. This can come in variety of forms: conferences, EdCamps, Twitter, Facebook, Google +, Voxer, department meetings, Pinterest, EduClipper, Listly, Diigo, and many, many more (and I will include Teachers Pay Teachers, even though many will disagree with me). It does NOT mean that a teacher MUST be on Twitter or participate in weekly Twitter edchats. Some of the best ideas I have learned have come from conferences and watching CUE videos on YouTube.

Thus, being a connected educator is more of an attitude than a specific action. It is the demeanor of educations who believe that we are all indeed better together. Thus, what’s in it for me is the same thing that is in it for all of us: improving our abilities as educators to improve the quality of education for all our students.

Leave a Reply

