No Resolutions!

As 2014 ended, I saw the word “resolution” appear in my Twitter timeline a million times. “I resolve to try new edtech tools.” “I resolve to blog more.” “I resolve to lose ten pounds.”

It then dawned on me that I did not have any resolutions for the year. What should I do? Blog more? Use more tech tools? Read more books? Turn off Chrome tabs when it is time to focus?

Theses are all good things, but I hesitate to make any resolutions because of an old saying: “We plan, and God laughs.” On January 1st, 2014, I was not yet on Twitter, I was not blogging, I had never been to any sort of a CUE conference, and I hadn’t even heard of an EdCamp. It was through serendipity that my eyes were opened to educational technology, an event that would permanently change my life.

So this year, I resolve to not make any resolutions, to be ready and awake to what is before me. I resolve to keep my preconceived notions of what I ought to do from giving me rich life experiences. I will not become so enamored with a goal that I miss the beautiful scenery that surrounds me.

In short, I resolve not to have any resolutions.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

